Thursday, July 16, 2009

The Beastie Boys - Live on BBC Radio from Manchester - 12/06/04

The Beastie Boys' new album Hot Sauce Committee Pt. 1 drops on September 15th. In the meantime, to tide you over, here is what I think is their best bootleg. It is a performance from Manchester on December 6, 2004 that was recorded for BBC Radio.

The Boys are in top form here but the real highlight of this bootleg is the amazing work from their DJ Mix Master Mike, who splices in so much cool music from countless classic records for the guys to rap over. If they attempted to put this many samples into an actual Beastie Boys studio record, it would probably cost a billion dollars. But on a live show, they can go nuts, and that's exactly what they do here.

This show also makes for some great workout music, although I speak from experience that you may get a few funny looks from people at the gym if you spontaneously declare that you are intercontinental when you eat french toast.

The Beastie Boys - 12/06/04 - Manchester, UK (Live on BBC Radio)

01 - Triple Trouble
02 - Sure Shot
03 - Body Rock
04 - Time to Get Ill
05 - Super Disco Breakin'
06 - Skills to Pay the Bills
07 - Shake Your Rump
08 - An Open Letter to NYC
09 - Right Right Now Now
10 - Paul Revere
11 - Body Movin'
12 - Three MCs and One DJ
13 - Check It Out
14 - Intergalactic
15 - Sabaotage

If you want more, here's video 45 minute set of the Beastie Boys performing in Amsterdam on the same 2004 tour. Thisfeatures an incredible six minute intro from Mix Master Mike Check it out here.

It will be interesting to see how they promote Hot Sauce Committe Pt. 1. They have hinted Pt. 2 being an mp3 only release, perhaps a free one. We shall see. I doubt though, that they could ever top this classic infomercial that aired on cable and public access television in the weeks leading up to the release of Hello Nasty.

Update: Adam Yauch recently announced in the video below that he has been diagnosed with cancer. He described it as very treatable and hopefully, that will be the case. The album release has been postponed for now and the upcoming shows have been cancelled. Hoping that all goes well and that they will be back soon.

No comments:

Post a Comment